What is Advanced Encryption Standard (AES) encryption?

AES is a state-of-the-art data encryption standard. It is unparalleled in the level of security and protection it offers.

Let’s understand what it is. AES is.

  • Symmetric key encryption
  • Block cipher.

Symmetric and asymmetric encryption

AES is a symmetric type of encryption.

“Symmetric” means that it uses the same key to encrypt and decrypt information In addition, both what is the sender and receiver of the data need a copy of them to decrypt the cipher.

On the other hand, asymmetric key systems use different keys for each of the two processes: encryption and decryption.

The advantage of symmetric systems like AES they are much faster than the asymmetric ones. This is because symmetric key algorithms require less processing power.

This is why asymmetric keys are best used for external file transfers. Symmetric keys are better suited for internal encryption.

What are block ciphers?

AES is also what the technology world calls a “Block Cipher.

It is called a “block cipher” because this type of cipher divides the information to be encrypted (known as plaintext) into sections called blocks.


To be more specific, AES uses a Block Size of 128 bits.

This means that the data is divided into a four-by-four array containing 16 bytes. Each byte contains eight bits.

Therefore, multiplying 16 bytes by 8 bits gives a total of 128 bits in each block.

Regardless of this division, the size of the encrypted data remains the same. In other words, 128 bits of plaintext give 128 bits of ciphertext.


AES is one of the most secure systems in the world. It is widely used in many industries where an extremely high level of security is required.

If AES encryption is good enough for the National Security Agency, we are more than willing to trust its security.

Despite the many technologies available today, AES remains the market leader. It is good enough that any company can use its top-secret information.


Skip to content